lunedì 11 settembre 2017

Hooded Menace announce new line-up

HOODED MENACE are announcing changes in their line-up in advance of their next studio album, which will be released via Season of Mist early in 2018.

Bassist Markus Makkonen will now be fully replaced by Antti Poutanen from CHURCH OF THE DEAD and DEVENIAL VERDICT. Furthermore KRYPTS drummer Otso Ukkonen takes over from Pekka Koskelo, who has already recorded all tracks for the forthcoming full-length.

Guitarist Lasse Pyykkö comments on behalf of HOODED MENACE: "While Markus has left the band earlier to focus on SADISTIK FOREST, we unfortunately have to let you know that or long-time drummer Pekka has also decided to leave. Our decision to relocate our headquarters (read: rehearsal place) from Joensuu to Helsinki has made it impossible for him to continue with us for private as well as professional reasons. We respect his decision and wish Pekka nothing but the best in his future. You can hear his last performance with us on our forthcoming new album. Massive thanks for all these years in HOODED MENACE, Pekka!
On happier news, we are delighted to announce our new members. Otso of KRYPTS fame will be the new sticksman for HOODED MENACE. Furthermore, DEVENIAL VERDICT and CHURCH OF THE DEAD bassist Antti will pluck the heavy strings for us. You can catch our new line-up live in action at the North of the Wall Festival in Glasgow, Scotland in April 2018 - if not before."
HOODED MENACE have previously commented about the progress of their recording: "We are excited to announce that Jaime Gomez Arellano (SÓLSTAFIR, CATHEDRAL, GHOST) has been handling the mixing and mastering for our new album, which will be out early next year."

HOODED MENACE are a death doom metal band that was formed in Joensuu, Finland in 2007 by guitarist Lasse Pyykkö, who had also performed in the Finnish cult death metal band PHLEGETHON. HOODED MENACE have always been open about being strongly influenced by early CANDLEMASS and CATHEDRAL as well as PARADISE LOST, AUTOPSY, ASPHYX, and WINTER. The Finns successfully aimed at playing very doom-laden death metal that combined crushing and somber riffs with an essential hint of melodies. Their lyrics are often inspired by the classic 1970's Spanish horror movie series 'The Blind Dead' that included such films as 'Tombs of the Blind Dead', 'Return of the Evil Dead', 'Horror of the Zombies', and 'Night of the Seagulls'.

HOODED MENACE proceeded to recorded a 2-track demo titled 'The Eyeless Horde' in 2007, which was released on 7" the following year. The Finns unleashed their debut album 'Fulfill the Curse' in 2008 and the highly acclaimed sophomore full-length 'Never Cross the Dead' delighted fans and critics alike after its release in 2010. HOODED MENACE remained in a highly creative mode and increased their following with the next two milestones 'Effigies of Evil' (2012) and their latest album 'Darkness Drips Forth' (2015). last year. True to classic vinyl style, HOODED MENACE also released several split singles and EPs for example with ASPHYX and COFFINS.

As an active live band, HOODED MENACE performed at many prestigious major metal festivals such as Hellfest, Roadburn, Maryland Deathfest, Tuska, and Party San Open Air among many more. The Finns toured Europe as a headliner in 2015 and are about to embark on a North American road-trip with DEMILICH and VASTUM, which includes an appearance at California Deathfest. 

HOODED MENACE have finished recording their next full-length, which will be out on Season of Mist in early 2018.

Harri Kuokkanen: vocals
Lasse Pyykkö: lead and rhythm guitar, bass 
Teemu Hannonen: rhythm guitar
Otso Ukkonen: drums
Antti Poutanen: bass

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento